Conservation Commission

Commission Members

Joseph F. Sina (U), Chair
Thomas C. Delventhal (D)
Bernard J. Gillis (D)
John C. Olin (D)
Susan Pagnano (U)
Gary S. Wilson (R)


W. Cameron Beard (U)
Charlotte J. Gelston (R)
Alan N. Ponanski (D) 

1 Plains Road
P.O. Box 385
Moodus, CT 06469
860-873-5042 fax 

The Conservation Commission meets in the Municipal Office Complex on the first Tuesday of every month with the exception of holidays.  Meetings start at 7:00 p.m. and the public is welcome to attend.

It is the responsibility of the East Haddam Conservation Commission (EHCC) to develop, manage and regulate natural resources in the town pursuant to Connecticut State Statute section 7-131a.  Primary responsibilities include, but are not limited to, open space stewardship such as signage, marking boundaries, blazing and maintaining trails, inventorying of plant and wildlife, preparation and distribution of maps. In addition, the EHCC assists with the management of forestry and the review of land use changes for impact on natural resources with the East Haddam Land Use office.

EHCC may partner with other town commissions in education and outreach to the public regarding invasive species, native species planting and wildlife habitat preservation.  It may also propose management plans for the town’s open space properties that are consistent with water supply management plans and recommend land use changes to the chief executive officer or the appropriate body responsible for such decisions. 

The EHCC keeps records of its meetings and makes an annual report to the town.  It is comprised of all volunteers and may be contain up to six regular and three alternate members.

East Haddam Trail Maps