Open Space Committee

Committee Members:

William A. Brady (HDC), Chair
Joseph Albuquerque (EDC)
Mary E. Augustiny (IWWC)
Harvey W. Thomas (BOF)
Todd H. Gelston (CONS)
Edmund J. Gubbins (P&Z)
Ernest P. Malavasi (BOS)
Mary C. Colpoys (REC)
Robert R. Smith (EHLT)
Laurie W. Alt (BOE)
Vacancy - AgC

1 Plains Road
P.O. Box 385
Moodus, CT 06469
860-873-1565 fax

The Open Space Committee meets the fourth Monday of every month, with the exception of holidays. Meetings are held at the Municipal Office Complex at 1 Plains Road, Moodus and begin at 7:30 p.m.

The Committee’s Charge

At a Town meeting on June 25, 1998, residents of East Haddam, interested in protecting East Haddam’s rural character and retaining our quality of life, voted to enact an Open Space Trust Fund ordinance to set aside funds to help acquire important, agricultural lands and natural resource areas. The ordinance established a commission to review, select, prioritize, and protect these lands.

On January 6, 2003, the Town of East Haddam, through a referendum vote (778 to 135), approved a $5 million dollar bond authorization to be used to purchase land or conservation easements on key parcels of land.

1 Plains Road
P.O. Box 385
Fax: 860-873-1565 fax