Planning and Zoning Commission

Commission Members:

Crary H. Brownell (R) 2027, Chairman
James M. Curtin (D) 2023, Vice Chairman
Louis H. Salicrup (R) 2023
Bernard J. Gillis (D) 2027
Edmund J. Gubbins, Jr.  (D) 2015
Justin Anderson (R) 2025
Richard L. Pettinelli (R) 2025

vacancy  2023
Susan E. Kinsman (D) 2025
Deborah Langdon (R) 2027

1 Plains Road
P.O. Box 385
Moodus, CT 06469
860-873-1565 fax

The Commission meets in the Municipal Office Complex on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month, with the exception of holidays and the month of December where the Commission meets the second Tuesday only.

Authority of the Commission
The Planning and Zoning Commission is charged with recommending and regulating the most desirable use of land within the town. Zoning regulations are in place to provide guidance for residential, recreational, commercial, industrial, and conservation land use.

The Commission also makes recommendations regarding the infrastructure system of the town, including principal roads and bridges, and general location and improvements concerning parks, public buildings, playgrounds and other public structures. All subdivision of land must be approved by the Commission and new businesses are reviewed through the special exception process and site plan review.

The Commission is guided by the Connecticut General Statutes, Town Zoning Regulations, and will refer to the Plan of Conservation and Development when applicable.

General Information
Phone Numbers
Fax: 860-873-1565 fax
Emergencies: Dial 911
1 Plains Road
P.O. Box 385