Planning & Zoning Commission - East Haddam

Planning & Zoning Commission

Commission Members:

Crary H. Brownell (R) 2021, Chairman
James M. Curtin (D) 2017, Vice Chairman

Louis H. Salicrup (R) 2017
Bernard J. Gillis (U) 2021
Edmund J. Gubbins, Jr.  (R) 2019
Kevin J. Matthews (R) 2019
Harvey W. Thomas (D) 2019

Martha Hansen (R) 2017
Richard L. Pettinelli (R) 2019
vacancy 2021

P.O. Box K
7 Main Street
East Haddam, CT 06423
860-873-5042 fax

The Commission meets in the Grange Hall on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month, with the exception of holidays and the month of December where the Commission meets the second Tuesday only.

Authority of the Commission
The Planning and Zoning Commission is charged with recommending and regulating the most desirable use of land within the town. Zoning regulations are in place to provide guidance for residential, recreational, commercial, industrial, and conservation land use.

The Commission also makes recommendations regarding the infrastructure system of the town, including principal roads and bridges, and general location and improvements concerning parks, public buildings, playgrounds and other public structures. All subdivision of land must be approved by the Commission and new businesses are reviewed through the special exception process and site plan review.

The Commission is guided by the Connecticut General Statutes, Town Zoning Regulations, and will refer to the Plan of Conservation and Development when applicable.