State law mandates that all dogs over six months of age must be licensed in the town in which they reside and must wear the tag on a collar around their neck.
All dogs licensed in the State of Connecticut require a current rabies vaccination. The Town Clerk encourages licensing by mail. Please provide the documentation and fee as outlined below, along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope. If you are licensing a new dog by mail, please also include your name, address, phone number, the dog’s name, age, breed and color.
Puppies must be licensed by the time they turn 6 months old. New dogs must be licensed within 30 days of obtaining them. You must provide documentation from the veterinarian showing the expiration date of your dog’s rabies vaccination (not the tag). No licenses will be issued without this information. If your dog has been spayed or neutered, you must bring documentation from the veterinarian as proof (or check your rabies certificate as it might state that your dog is an "MN" (male neutered or an "FS" (female spayed). The fee for licensing an unaltered dog is $19.00. The fee for licensing a spayed or neutered dog is $8.00. Licenses not applied for within the required 30 days will be subject to a penalty of $1.00 per month.
All dog licenses are renewed in June to become effective July 1. If your dog’s rabies vaccination has expired since the last time you licensed your dog, you must provide documentation from the veterinarian showing the new expiration date. No licenses will be renewed without this information. If your dog is newly spayed or neutered, you must bring documentation from the veterinarian. The fee for renewing the license of an unaltered dog is $19.00. The fee for renewing the license of a spayed or neutered dog is $8.00. A late fee of $1.00 per month per dog is assessed.
TRANSFERS FROM OTHER TOWNS WITHIN CONNECTICUT
If your dog is currently licensed in one Connecticut town and you have since moved to East Haddam, you can transfer the dog’s license for a $1.00 fee. Also, if you acquire a dog that is already licensed by its prior owner, you may transfer that license to your name for $1.00
If your dog loses its tag, a replacement can be obtained for $1.00.
Kennel licenses are available in groups of 10 tags. The fee is $51.00. Licenses not issued by June 30th may be subject to late penalties.
Violation of the licensing law carries a fine to be imposed by the Animal Control Officer. For further information, click here: Animal Control
Last updated: 8/2015 PM